#blogjune 4: The most over thing ever

Steampunk.

You heard it here first. It’s over. I’m declaring it. I said it while out with friends (diligentroomers and cohorts) Thursday night, and I’m stealing that content right here and now in a desperate bid to be ahead of this crazy edge, or at least up to date.

It’s been fun, but once we’ve had a steampunk movie featuring a Victorian mental health patient/teen hooker/ninja Spicegirl knockoff team, Inception-style story layering and a superkawaii pink-bunny themed mech we’re done. We are out of there. Gone. Put the brass down and nobody will get bored to tears.

What’s now? Obviously it’s transhumanism. Gaga did it, and Katy Perry just did it with Kanye West for the video of their new track ET – although I’m pretty sure the interchangeability of human attributes for consumable products was the point of California Gurls – unless the audience is really stupid enough to fall for the surface sell. We’re all wishing to upgrade and mutate, and there’s good news on that front everywhere one looks.

One of my favourite parts of the day is the early morning. I’m not socially gracious before I have the coffee I mentioned so long ago now on day one, but coffee is the first transhuman act I take of the day, and my time before that is an archaelogical adventure into musing at the pace I was designed to first thing in the morning.

What’s to come? Maybe kpop. We’ll see.

About seanmurgatroyd
Library (Shared blog): http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/ Personal including infoculture, book reviews: http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/ Music: http://seanfishmusic.wordpress.com/ Last.fm band page: http://www.last.fm/music/Seanfish @seanfish

One Response to #blogjune 4: The most over thing ever

  1. Hello colleagues, nice piece of writing and pleasant urging commented
    here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

