#blogjune 10: Half day holiday

I’m about to go in to work a half – mainly I’ll be doing some comms stuff.

Having been very stressed by the organisational and role transitions I’m paying attention to maintaining my wellbeing – for a while there I was smoking having given up for more than two years. I’m very pleased that’s been firmly tapped on the head.

My insomnia’s dramatically improved though, which I really think is an outcome of looking for a role that is really going to throw up some challenges.

I’m reminded of when I first entered the workforce. I had a period of unemployment in my early twenties, and I recall feeling like everybody knew things such as where the pens were kept that were just beyond me.

At this point, I feel confident to locate pens myself (actually Sal and I created a futuristic-looking stationery set in a range of colours which you can see if you’re ever near my desk) and I don’t think there’s any secret knowledge floating around. I do feel like a nubster, which made yesterday’s talks a welcome chance to feel like I knew something about something for a while.

About seanmurgatroyd
Library (Shared blog): http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/ Personal including infoculture, book reviews: http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/ Music: http://seanfishmusic.wordpress.com/ Last.fm band page: http://www.last.fm/music/Seanfish @seanfish

3 Responses to #blogjune 10: Half day holiday

  1. Ruth Baxter says:

    I’m finally learning to care better for myself too 🙂 Positively this flows on to more productive work outcomes anyway, but I think it’s sad that the work/life balance is not emphasised more in workplaces.

    • seanmurgatroyd says:

      I do think there are good workplaces and bad.

      Mine seems to be pretty good – certainly I’ve personally been well supported to find that balance as I adjust to my new role.

  2. Penny says:

    I reckon it can take up to 6 months before you feel totally up with the play in a new job. Although, this one didn’t take so long since I already knew the people and places, it was just the role that needed adjusting to. Still, it’s all going to change again in the next few months which is unsettling.

Leave a Reply

