#blogjune 23: Not sticking my neck out

And I mean that literally.

I’ve had a bit of problems with my back and neck over the last month, an adjustment to my new working environment exacerbated by a minor trip that had me flailing to protect my vitals. Note to self: a bruised tummy is better than twisting my spine through a complex three-dimensional path.

Things were improving nicely to a point with exercise and stretching to the point that my back was entirely remobilised, but it became apparent last week I’d need physio on my neck.

I’m pleased to say it looks like I’ll just need three sessions and maybe to pull my neck around a little bit, for which I’m grateful.

I’m supposed to keep checking myself to make sure I pull my neck in, so that it is as if my head and whole body are suspended from a thread.

Injuries of this nature can be very debilitating. I had a strain injury early in my career which fortunately I was able to recover from.

I’ve talked to many others experiencing similar illnesses, and they’ve reported social conflicts as being the hardest thing to deal with. Strain injuries cannot be seen from the outside and not everybody is able to believe in an injury they can see no evidence of. I consider myself fortunate that I was very much supported during that time.

The real hardship was mental. The discomfort from these kinds of injuries is constant rather than intermittent, and anybody who has had a bad back will know the inevitable drop in mood that constant pain can bring, even with the appropriate use of painkillers. With that mood drop, tunnel vision can set in and it’s possible to foresee a future in which the condition never ameliorates. Our posture tends to reflect our mood, which creates a vicious circle.

I’m lucky in that I have inherited from my mother an ability to judiciously turn medical advice into gospel. She, famously in our family, astounded her doctor when her high cholesterol rapidly normalised after he recommended a treatment regime. Her secret? She followed the medical advice – lifestyle components and all – to the letter.  According to some studies (abstract only) up to 80% of patients fail to do this, depending on the advice. I do the same, and so once I was working with a physio I attended to my posture and performed the stretching exercises he gave me at the frequencies he recommended.

I’m not advertising myself as a poster boy for anything here, by the way. For a start, I ought to give myself a break from typing about now.

About seanmurgatroyd
Library (Shared blog): http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/ Personal including infoculture, book reviews: http://diligentroom.wordpress.com/ Music: http://seanfishmusic.wordpress.com/ Last.fm band page: http://www.last.fm/music/Seanfish @seanfish

Leave a Reply

